top of page

2024 Women's Collective Summit



APAICS provides a launching point for AA & NH/PI women interested in politics through panels of political experts, networking opportunities, and hearing from AA & NH/PI elected officials. The APAICS Women’s Collective Summit was created to bring powerful AA & NH/PI women together to share, to inspire, and to take bold action towards creating a more representative democracy. The 2024 Summit is a two-day event during which participants are invited to learn in several programs ranging from networking to leadership training to community building.

The 2024 Women's Collective Summit will take place on Friday, June 28, 2024 and Saturday, June 29, 2024 in Seattle, Washington.



Friday, June 28

Women’s Collective: 8:00AM – 4:15PM

Spotlight Awards Dinner: 5:30PM – 8:30PM


Saturday, June 29

Women’s Collective: 9:00AM-1:30PM

2024 Registration Fees

Standard Rates

  • Access to both the 2-day Summit and the Spotlight Awards Dinner will cost $250. 

  • Access to JUST the 2-day Summit will cost $100.

  • Access to JUST the Spotlight Awards Dinner will cost $150.

We have a limited number of student scholarships available. To apply, please email and include a copy of your academic transcript.

Student Scholarship Rates

  • Access to both the 2-day Summit and the Spotlight Awards Dinner will cost $100.

  • Access to JUST the 2-day Summit will cost $50.

  • Access to JUST the Spotlight Awards Dinner will cost $50.


APAICS offers two hotel room options on a first come, first serve basis. Single rooms can be purchased at a discounted rate, or participants can opt to share a double room with another participant, free of charge. 



Jayapal_Congressional Portrait (1).jpg
Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal
Congresswoman Marilyn Strickland
Trudeau (1).jpg
Sharon Tomiko Santos 37-01 headshot (1).jpg
Senator Yasmin Trudeau
Washington State Senate, District 27
Rep. Sharon Tomiko Santos
Washington State House of Representatives, District 37
Rep Slatter headshot (1).jpeg
Thai (1).jpg
duerr headshot 2023 (1).jpg
Rep. Vandana Slatter
Washington State House of Representatives, District 48
Rep. My-Linh Thai
Washington State House of Representatives, District 41
Rep. Davina Duerr
Washington State House of Representatives, District 1
Rep. Mia Gregerson
Washington State House of Representatives, District 33

2024 Spotlight Award Honorees

As a part of the Women's Collective, the Spotlight Award honors Asian American or Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander women for breaking barriers and outstanding leadership in elected office. Congratulations to the 2024 honorees!
Mayor Lily Wu
City of Wichita, Kansas
IMG_0321 - Lily Wu (1).jpeg
First Asian American Mayor of Wichita, the largest city in Kansas
State Representative Nima Kulkarni
Kentucky House of Representatives
Nima Kulkarni_2022 - Nima Kulkarni (1).jpg
First Indian American Elected to Kentucky State Legislature
53085166888_d8f90fe288_o (2).jpg
53085166888_d8f90fe288_o (2).jpg
53085166888_d8f90fe288_o (2).jpg


Articulating Your Self Interest
Empowerment begins with understanding and confidently articulating our own self-interests as women, fostering a culture of assertiveness and advocacy for yourself and your community. In this session, we'll explore in small group and large group discussions about how to determine your north star values and priorities and ways for you to articulate them.

Facilitator: Aigalesala (Sala) Tauanu'u-Afalava, MACP, LMHC, New Hope Counseling PLLC

Giving and Receiving Feedback
This session will underscore the vital role of giving and receiving feedback, as it empowers individuals to navigate professional challenges with confidence, fostering a supportive environment where women can thrive and excel. Effective feedback not only enhances individual leadership capabilities but also cultivates a culture of inclusivity and empowerment, enabling people to lead authentically and inspire positive change.

Facilitator: Christina Kuo, Principal, Grassroots Solutions

Barrier to Fundraising: Your Relationship With Money
In this session, we'll examine how personal beliefs and emotions surrounding money can hinder fundraising efforts. By reframing perspectives and implementing targeted strategies, attendees will learn to navigate and overcome these barriers, unlocking their full potential to secure meaningful support for their causes.

Facilitator: Madalene Xuan-Trang Mielke, President and CEO, APAICS

Your Management Style
This session is a small group discussion on personal management styles, where we'll explore the diverse approaches used to lead and organize their lives. Through candid conversation and shared experiences, we'll uncover the strengths and weaknesses of various management styles, empowering participants to refine their own approaches for enhanced productivity and fulfillment.

Facilitator: Anna Nguyen, External Affairs Manager, City of New Orleans Office of Resilience & Sustainability

Facing Conflict
Engage in a reflective and collaborative small group discussion as we delve into the complexities of managing personal and professional conflicts. Together, we'll uncover insights and experiences that promote healthy conflict management, fostering stronger relationships, and professional growth.

Facilitator: Aigalesala (Sala) Tauanu'u-Afalava, MACP, LMHC, New Hope Counseling PLLC

Breaking the Work-Life Balance Myth
Time for real-talk about the realities of work-life balance with us in this intimate small group discussion. Together, we'll unravel common misconceptions and societal pressures surrounding this elusive concept. Through open dialogue and personal reflections, we'll explore ways to redefine balance on our own terms.

Facilitator: Régine Biscoe Lee, Secretary, Guam Women's Chamber of Commerce

2024 Program Preview


Leading When Democracy Is Under Threat
In this plenary session, panelists will share what leadership qualities are vital when democracy is under threat.

Common Ground and Compromise: The Need for Both
Common ground refers to areas of agreement or shared understanding between parties, providing a foundation for cooperation. Compromise, however, involves reaching a resolution in which each party gives up something to meet in the middle and resolve differences or conflicts. While common ground focuses on shared beliefs or interests, compromise involves making concessions to find a mutually acceptable outcome. This plenary session explores these two necessary leadership concepts

Gen Z Leadership
Gen Z is making the steps into the private and public sectors and they are bringing their own expectations and boundaries. In this panel, we will hear from emerging Gen Z leaders share what they need from current leaders to feel supported and succeed.

Multi-Racial, Multi-Ethnic Allyship
Join us for this plenary session where we explore the critical importance of multiracial allyship and its profound impact for women and gender expansive people of color. Through conversations and sharing of stories, we'll delve into why building cross-racial alliances is essential for advancing the interests and perspectives of women of color. Together, we'll explore how collective solidarity and allyship can break down entrenched barriers, advocate for inclusive policies, and foster a more equitable and representative democracy.

53085166888_d8f90fe288_o (2).jpg
53092039928_1d1d76e190_o (2).jpg

Check Out the Past Summits

register today.png
2022 Women's Collective Office Hours.png

Office Hours

Women's Collective Program


Thank You To Our Partners

Amazon (1).png
microsoft_logo (1).png
McDonald's (2).jpg
EIX logo_horizontal_internal_cmyk.png
Instacart_Logo_Kale (2) (2).png

Swag Bag Sponsors

kbmark on limegreen copy.png
bottom of page